The Superfluous Too

All lovers covet that
tired phrase, three words and eight letters.
Volleyed out over the net,
the birdie is tossed back with a partner’s brag,
an extra three letters, the four word response:
I love you, too.
Too.
Also, As well, Addition, Aside.
I and love and you
swell; a hope filled balloon
burst by the thumbtack too.
Not an equal return but
a clause to the rule, a footnote
amending reality.
I don’t love you as much as you love me.
Thoughtless and obligatory,
I love you, too.
Too.
But not fully.

——–

SO I WROTE YOU A POEM.

I don’t know, it felt like a shout-worthy announcement.  I’m realizing now that I likely stole (artistically, artistically!) “I and love and you” from The Avett Brothers.  After Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise and January Wedding, I and Love and You is my favorite Avett Brothers song.  Particularly because it features the incomparable line, “That woman she’s got eyes that shine/Like a pair of stolen polished dimes”.  I cannot even.

At any rate, I hope you enjoyed this poem.  It probably gave you some insight as to why I am a single lady.  Hey-oh!  (I don’t really know.)

7 thoughts on “The Superfluous Too

  1. LYDIA. YOU ARE JUST MY FAVORITE OF HUMANS. Ahhhhhhhhhh. I have none of the coherence! I was just babbling at Laurel about how much I love you. While she supports my love (and thinks it’s cute), I do believe she may also think it slightly crazy. Which is okay, as crazy is somewhat of the norm around here.

    I love the poem. <3 Scrotums forever and things.

  2. Pingback: Repetition |

Talk About It

