Happy Valentine’s Day! (Sorry I’m drunk.)

Full disclosure:  I’m drunk right now!  Sorry.

Happy Valentine’s Day, friends!  In my family, Valentine’s Day has always been about celebrating the important people in our lives.  Not romantically, necessarily.  The platonic people in your life are often far more important than your romantic flings… at least when you’re as young as I am.  Like, if you’ve been with someone for 35 years, I hope your partner is, you know, way up on the list there.  Anyway.  I know a lot of people get upset about Valentine’s Day, and embrace Forever Alone guy as their GPOY of the day… but I love this holiday.  I don’t love all the weird inauthentic stuff on sale, and if anyone ever gives me store-bought flowers we’ll probably break up.  I love flowers, but most Valentine’s Day flowers are imported from Ecuador where the workers are exposed to pesticides in virtual slave-labor conditions.  And I care about the Ecuadorians.  So don’t buy my those blood flowers.

I thought it would be fun to show you some of the things I made for Valentine’s Day!  This is all an elaborate part of my scheme to avoid doing my homework.  I have to watch Brick for class tomorrow, and I keep hearing that it’s massively depressing… so I thought it was a good idea to get drunk before watching it.  I’m a super giggly drunk, not one of those depressed and sad drunks, so I swear this was a good (?) plan.

Allie and her gentleman Mike are home from their date.  Allie is also drunk.  Mike thinks we’re the most ridiculous people on this entire planet.  While they were out doing coupley sort of things this evening, I made a double batch of pumpkin muffins.  I even found some vegan frosting for my roommate’s plateful!  She’s newly vegan, and if you haven’t visited her blog yet, you should.  So I had all these beautifully frosted muffins arranged artfully on the table, and we were all admiring their beauty when the dog came and started eating one.  We didn’t notice.  Until we did and I laid on the floor laughing for five minutes while Allie rearranged all the muffins so you couldn’t tell which one Avery licked and Mike agreed to take that plate home.

I was going to show you stuff.  I helped Allie make this for Mike:

And I made this for Allie!  The Kanye thing would make more sense if you lived with us.  The hilariously bad art skills would also make more sense if you lived with us.  Both are a roommate sort of joke, so I put them together.  The card says, “I like you more than Kanye likes… Kanye.”  I also stuck one of his best tweets on there.  “I specifically ordered persian rugs with cherub imagery!!!  What do I have to do to get a simple rug with cherub imagery uuuuugh” Allie and I just turned her plate of muffins into a tower.  That vegan frosting makes great cement!

I just realised that being drunk maybe wasn’t the best idea I’ve ever had.  I missed my first classes of the semester because I had a migraine that was SO INTENSE I couldn’t see anything but spots and had to come home for the last half of the day.  Otter very sweetly napped with me all afternoon.  You can’t tell because my sweater is the same color as his fur, but he literally cuddle-hugged me the whole time.  I LOVE THAT DOG.

I’m willing to admit that this entire post is nonsense, and has only grown increasingly nonsensical.  Also, it’s becoming hard to hit the right keys.  I apologize for my inebriated state.  I’ll be back with a less ridiculous post soon.

I love all of your beautiful minds, bodies, etc!!!

5 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day! (Sorry I’m drunk.)

Talk About It

