Dinner and a Movie: Nostalgic Throwback

One of my sisters lives about five minutes away from me.  I’m lucky to have her so close because the rest of our family is scattered around the country and globe.  Our schedules are wacky, so we don’t see much of each other.  Spring Break is a magical (if brief) respite from normalcy and it’s given us some together-time.  Today, Lindsay was talking about the Coyote Ugly Saloon in Denver.  I had no idea what she was talking about.

Apparently, never having seen the movie Coyote Ugly is a grievous sin.  So grievous, in fact, that we made an immediate trip to a movie rental store to find a copy.  I haven’t been in a video store in years.  Even though it’s an expensive and outdated way to watch movies, I couldn’t help running around the store like a hyperactive puppy.  There’s something so exciting about a store where you can pick up a movie case and read the reviews… it’s a lot more fun and satisfying than scrolling through movie posters on Netflix.

I have a lot of memories of being a kid, choosing a weekend video while my mom shopped at the BX.  In high school, I found all my favorite movies by making blind selections in the Indie section.  (I was very dramatic and Indie then.)  The video store made me nostalgic, so I gave in and made a nostalgic dinner.  Nothing says childhood like chicken nuggets!  Processed foods, pumped with preservatives and weird ingredients are gross, creepy and make me feel sick.  Instead, I made my own!  It’s such a simple and inexpensive meal, I thought you might like to try it out.  Especially/only if you’re in college and are still trying to figure out how to feed yourself.

Here’s what you need:
2 chicken breasts
2  eggs
3 pieces of wheat toast

Whisk the eggs, crumble the toast (a food processor is super helpful), and cut the chicken (kitchen shears!) however you prefer it.  I added a fair amount of pepper, seasoned salt and other spices to the breadcrumbs.  I’m a big believer in utilizing the spice rack.  Drop each piece of chicken into the egg, then roll it in the breadcrumbs and put it on a lightly greased baking sheet.  When all your chicken is coated, stick it in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes.

I’m obsessed with fruit salads and that cold pasta salad with sugar snap peas in it… I mostly love anything that’s cheap and easy.  Having dinner parties is really important to me.  I believe in feeding others, sharing food and bonding over a communal meal.  It’s goofy but it makes me happy to make things (especially food!) and share them with other people.  I had a great night with my sister… even if I thought Coyote Ugly was utterly ridiculous and nonsensical.  It was fun and silly and happily nostalgic.

2 thoughts on “Dinner and a Movie: Nostalgic Throwback

  1. first, what is BX?
    second, you are awesome.
    third, now i’m getting hungry.
    fourth, i think i watched maybe a scene of Coyote Ugly before giving up. but watching bad movies in good company is never a bad time. ^_^
    fifth, and last, this is why my fantasy is to get to have a dinner party with all my closest friends.

    • Ah! I should have explained that. BX is short for… Base Express, I think. There’s one on every Air Force base, usually next to the Commissary- which is the only grocery store. The BX sells clothes (totally uncute clothes), toys, home goods, electronics, movies… all your basic home needs. And some of them have a movie rental store inside. :D

      We’re going to have an amazing dinner party one day. I cannot wait for everybody to show up and eat and chat. I’m pretty set on this happening.

Talk About It

