Why I’m Not Talking About Chick-fil-A

Like all of the internet last week, I had (and have) a lot of feelings about “Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day”.  I wrote a lot of things, but didn’t post any of them.  I didn’t have anything productive to add.  The people who read these posts already share my general opinions, and I didn’t see the point in adding my annoyance to the general din.

I have a lot of Feminist Guilt around not being more actively involved in politics.  I know there’s an incredible dearth of women in the political sphere.  I know that I am smart and capable and pretty good at using my words to make statements.  I feel like I should be out Doing Something, and trying to create laws to make the world and our lives better…and I feel very guilty for not wanting to do any of that.

In the end, I think we construct our own realities, and try to make our collective reality better, in the best ways we can.  That’s not going to be as a lobbyist or politician for all of us.  Sometimes, the most you can do is love and be aware.

This video is from Esther Day.  There’s a scene toward the end where a whole group of people are on their phones, calling people to say, “I love you.” Then, there’s a clip of Esther talking about the importance of love.  When I watch this, yelling about why I’m horrified by “Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day” seems like a poor use of my time, and yours.

I was reminded of this quote from a book I like very much called The Fault in Our Stars.  It’s by John Green (and is dedicated to Esther).

“You know what I believe? I remember in college I was taking this math class, this really great math glass taught by this tiny old woman. She was talking about fast Fourier transforms and she stopped midsentence and said, ‘Sometimes it seems the universe wants to be noticed.’ That’s what I believe. I believe the universe wants to be noticed. I think the universe is improbably biased toward consciousness, that it rewards intelligence in part because the universe enjoys its elegance being observed. And who am I, living in the middle of history, to tell the universe that it — or my observation of it — is temporary?”

I don’t know much about life or the world, or even how to compose my thoughts about why I think it’s dangerous to treat corporations like people, to let them control our civil rights battles, and to rely on consumer activism as a viable means of legislating equality.  I don’t know much about anything, really.  But I know we can try to be good people.  We can try to use our intelligence and observe elegance, and we can work on loving each other.

Talk About It

